Hamvention will be held May 20, 21 and 22, 2022 at the Greene County Fairgrounds and Expo Center. For more information, please select the tabs below or use the navigation menu above to visit pages of interest. If you have a specific question that isn’t answered on the site, please contact us.

The entire staff of Hamvention volunteers is working hard behind the scenes to make our fourth year at  Hamvention’s new home at the Greene County Fairgrounds and Exposition Center even better. Details will be posted when they become available, so check back often. In the meantime, enjoy this photo tour of Hamvention’s new home:

Future Shows

2022 – May 20, 21 & 22

2023 – May 19, 20 & 21

2024 – May 17, 18 & 19

Where it all started…Since 1952 Hamvention® has been sponsored by Dayton Amateur Radio Association (DARA). For many years it has been the world\’s largest amateur radio gathering, attracting hams from throughout the globe.About 1950, John Willig, W8ACE, had asked the Dayton Amateur Radio Association to sponsor a HAM Convention but was turned down. John wanted to have a quality affair. Speakers and prizes would be a drawing point. John finally found a champion in Frank Schwab, W8YCP (W8OK), the newly elected president of the club. A meeting was held and the DARA Board allocated $100 to get started. The first organizational meeting was held in January 1952.The Southwestern Ohio Ham-vention was born. The first committee consisted of: John Willig, W8ACE, General Chairman Al Dinsmore, W8AUN, Arrangements Bob Siff, W8QDI (K4AMG), Prizes and Exhibits Frank Schwab, W8YCP (W8OK), Publicity Bob Montgomery, W8CUJ, Finance Clem Wolford, W8ENH, Program Ellie Haburton, W8GJP (W4ZVW), Women\’s Committee. The next year the name became “Dayton Hamvention®” and was registered as a trademark.April was determined to be the best time but the Biltmore Hotel, in downtown Dayton was booked. March 22 was the chosen date, causing a short lead time. How far did $100 go? Not far! A 12″ TV was raffled off to help raise funds. The FCC agreed to give license exams and Phil Rand, W1BDM, a pioneer in TVI elimination was on the program. First prize, a Collins 75A2, was purchased locally.Hoping for 300 visitors, the committee was amazed that over 600 showed up! There were 7 exhibitors and 6 forums. The ladies program was successful with a luncheon at the Biltmore and a trip to a local TV station. In 1955 the Awards Program began with the “Amateur of the Year.” The Flea Market has grown from 200 to more than 2000 spaces. In 1964 the Hamvention® moved to Hara Arena. Shuttle buses and handicapped parking were added in 1969. In 1973 it became a 2 day event with Sundays added in 1974. The program has grown to a “Souvenir Program” and in 1976 the dimensions changed from 6″x 9″ to the current 8-1/2″x11″.The growth of the Dayton Hamvention® can be attributed to caring, energetic people who enjoy being on a winning team.

1952-55 John Willig, W8ACE
1956-57 Rudy Plak, W8ZOF (W6TIK)
1958 Frank Schwab, W8YCO (W8OK)
1959-60 Ed F. Bonnet, W8OVG
1961-62 Joseph McNutt, W8GFN
1963-64 Sheemon Wolfe, W8WJL
1965-66 Edgar Smith, W8RKL
1967 Robert Wilcox, K8EJ
1968-69 Jack Ohmart, K8CUA
1970-71 Kenneth Mills, W8RLY
1972 George Shearer, WA8IHC (KE8WJ)
1977 Wallace Wright, WA8ZCA (AD8N)

1973-76 Ted Suarez, K8BSC
1978 John Basilotto, WA8ZAN (KC2EH)
1979 Sandford Cohen, W8JEZ (N8HWQ)
1980-81 Noel McKeown, WB8QQC
1982-83 Harold Judd, WA8KNM
1984-85 Jack Mitchell, AA8Q
1986-87 Jim Simpson, WB8QZZ
1988-89 Bill McNabb, WD8SAY
1990 Ed Hillman, N8ALN
1991-92 Ross Brown, WA8DQH
1993-94 Dave Grubb, KC8CF
1995-96 Ken Allen, KB8KE

1997-99 Dick Miller, N8CBU
2000-02 Jim Graver, KB8PSO
2003 Pat Neff, N8IGS
2004-05 Gary DesCombs, N8EMO
2006-07 Jim Nies, WX8F
2008-09 Carl Rose, K8CPR
2010 Lee Boeckerman, W8LFB
2011-12 Michael Kalter, W8CI
2013-14 Charles Kaiser, KD8JZR
2015-16 Jim Tiderman, N8IDS
2017-18 Ron Cramer, KD8ENJ
2019-     Jack Gerbs, WB8SCT